Listen to New Tracks By Flying Lotus, Baauer and Rick Rubin Off the New “Star Wars Headspace” Album

Posted by Isabelle 8 months ago in Film, Music

star wars headspace rick rubin

All the Star Wars movies are brilliant as films that you sit and watch, but what would they be like if they were made into dance tracks that you un-sit and rage to?

Rick Rubin has the answer to that burning question. He’s just curated and produced a new compilation called Star Wars Headspace, which features exclusive new songs curated using sound elements from the Star Wars films. And to do it, he’s assembled one hell of an EDM god lineup; everyone from Flying Lotus to Shlohmo to A-Trak has a song on this thing, and they’re all created out of things like Darth Vader’s breathing, Wookie roars, R2D2’s bleep-bloops and the eternally hypoglycemic laments of C-3PO.

It’s. So. COOL.

Star Wars Headspace will be out February 19 digitally and March 18 in physical formats via Hollywood Records/American Recordings, but as a little teaser, three of the tracks premiered via Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show today.

Listen to Flying Lotus’ “R2 Where R U?” and Baauer’s “Cantina Boys” below, as well as Rubin’s own original production “NR-G7.” FlyLo also sat down for an interview with Lowe, in which he talked about how the album came together and his upcoming projects … you can find that, as well as the full track list for Star Wars Headspace, below.

Enjoy, Luke Skywalkers and Princess Leias.

Star Wars Headspace:

01 Kaskade: “C-3P0’s Plight”
02 GTA: “Help Me!”
03 TroyBoi: “Force”
04 Baauer: “Cantina Boys”
05 Shag Kava: “Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work” [ft. A-Trak]
06 Claude VonStroke: “R2 Knows” [ft. Barry Drift]
07 Rick Rubin: “NR-G7”
08 Bonobo: “Ghomrassen”
09 Röyksopp: “Bounty Hunters”
10 ATTLAS: “Sunset Over Manaan”
11 Flying Lotus: “R2 Where R U?”
12 Shlohmo: “Druid Caravan of Smoke”
13 Rustie: “EWOK PUMPP”
14 Galantis: “Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder”
15 Breakbot: “Star Tripper”


Pin It on Pinterest